the lentil soup project

I love lentil soup too. Unfortunately, no one else in my family does. The boys called it “brown slop” – and would sit and stare at it until I told them they could have PB & Jelly instead. I make it differently every time, but Molly Katzen’s Moosewood Cookbook has a very good recipe in it.

yoonanimous

I really like lentil soup. I’ve liked it since I had my first bowl of it in Istanbul, which is a d-baggy thing to say, like when people come back from Italy and say they won’t eat pizza anymore because it wouldn’t be as good as the pie they had in Naples. Go back to Naples then! Who’s stopping you? But anyway, it’s true: they have spices in Turkey that people don’t use much here, like Aleppo pepper, and I’ve searched for years for a recipe to recreate the magic of my first lentil soup experience, and never gotten even close.

But that’s all in my past. I’m a mom now, and don’t have time to waste on perfecting my own culinary experiences. I just want to cook things that my kids will eat. After pick-up last week, Finn and I stopped in at a coffee shop across the street…

View original post 802 more words

Leave a Reply

